The three provinces of the prairies have each a different method in regard to the appointment of city commissioners. In Manitoba is found the board of control, in Saskatchewan the appointed commissioner, in Alberta the elected commissioner and appointed commissioner.

In Manitoba, a town containing over 10,000 inhabitants may be erected into a city with a council consisting of the mayor and two

aldermen from each ward.

In all three provinces, cities, towns, villages and rural municipalities may pass by-laws for contracting debts by borrowing money or otherwise, and, if necessary, for issuing debentures for certain specified purposes, but in all cases the by-laws for borrowing money must receive the assent of the electors. Particularly in connection with the smaller municipalities the limit of debt is specifically stated

in the various acts governing the cases.

The legislative powers of the councils of municipalities in the three prairie provinces are in the main the same,—acquiring property for municipal or public purposes, taking census, appointing engineers, constables and other officers, enforcement of by-laws, regulations regarding public health and comfort, public safety, public order and morality, protection from fire, care of children, regulation of streets and public places, drainage and sewerage, fences, dairies, water supply, matters relating to agriculture, public fairs, animals, dog taxes, impounding, cemeteries, coal and wood supply, libraries, advertising, markets, boards of trade, trades and occupations, licensing travellers for commercial houses, street numbering and similar matters.

BRITISH COLUMBIA.

By John Hosie, Victoria, B.C.

British Columbia entered Confederation on July 20, 1871, and has a local constitution similar to that of the other provinces. The province had been constituted in 1866 by the union of the colony of Vancouver Island and its dependencies (where a government had been established in 1849) with that of British Columbia, which dated from 1858. Local responsible government began before Confederation, but previously the colonies had been administered by two mixed elective and appointed councils.

Executive.—The Lieutenant-Governor and a cabinet not to exceed twelve ministers constitute the present administration. The cabinet is composed of the following: the Premier, who is also Minister of Railways and President of the Council; Attorney-General and Minister of Labour; Minister of Finance and Minister of Industries; Provincial Secretary and Minister of Education; Minister of Lands; Minister of Mines and Commissioner of Fisheries; Minister of Public Works; Minister of Agriculture. With the exception of the Premier, who holds two other offices and receives \$9,000 a year in respect of his position as Premier only (the portfolio of President of the Council is unpaid), each minister receives \$7,500 a year. The first cabinet after Confederation consisted of five members. In 1900 the Department